USD 87.9595


EUR 94.2606


Brent 84.08


Natural gas 2.811




The International Maritime Organization's objectives can be best summed up by its slogan — Safe, secure and efficient shipping on clean oceans


The International Maritime Organization (IMO) was established by means of a convention adopted in Geneva in 1948.
It entered into force in 1958, and 1st met in 1959.
Based in the United Kingdom, the IMO has 173 member states as of Sept. 2019.

The IMO is a specialized agency of the United Nations that is responsible for measures to improve the safety and security of international shipping and to prevent marine pollution from ships.

The IMO sets standards for the safety and security of international shipping.
It oversees every aspect of worldwide shipping regulations, including legal issues and shipping efficiency.

The IMO's governing body, which is the Assembly that is made up of all 173 member states, generally meets every 2 years.
The Assembly addresses items such as council elections, deciding upon the work program, and looking at the budget.

IMO’s treaty, International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea, is regarded as the most crucial treaty regarding safety at sea.

The 1st draft of it was adopted in 1914 following the sinking of the Titanic, before the creation of the IMO.
It's important to note that the IMO does not implement or enforce policy, in any way.
The IMO was created to adopt policy, not enforce it.

When governments accept an IMO convention, it agrees to make those policies national law and to enforce those laws.
The IMO did develop an audit program that made audits required, effective as of January 2016.

However, there is no countermeasure available to the UN if the country is not enforcing the policies set by the IMO.
Instead, the IMO provides feedback and advice on a country's current performance.