USD 93.4409


EUR 99.5797


Brent 87.38


Natural gas 1.988



South Caucasus Pipeline (SCP)

The South Caucasus Pipeline was built to export Shah Deniz gas from Azerbaijan to Georgia and Turkey.

South Caucasus Pipeline (SCP)

South Caucasus Pipeline (SCP) starts from the Sangachal terminal near Azerbaijan´s Baku.
It follows the route of the Baku-Tbilisi-Ceyhan (BTC) crude oil pipeline through Azerbaijan and Georgia to Turkey, where it is linked to the Turkish gas distribution system.

SCP comprises a gas offtake at the Azerbaijan-Georgia border as well, connecting the SCP to the Georgian gas distribution system.
SCP was constructed jointly with BTC in order to minimise the environmental and social impact and to achieve capital and operating cost saving synergies.

South Caucasus Pipeline Company (SCPC) has been responsible for the construction and operation of the whole pipeline.
So SCP has a dual operatorship with BP as the technical operator being responsible for construction and operation of the SCP facilities and SOCAR Midstream Operations Limited, as commercial operator, is responsible for SCP's business administration.

The pipeline has been operational since late 2006 transporting gas to Azerbaijan and Georgia, and starting from July 2007 to Turkey from Shah Deniz Stage 1.

The length of SCP is 692 km, the design capacity is 7.4 bcma and the pipeline diameter is 42’’.
The SCP facilities comprise: one Compressor Station in Azerbaijan, 11 Block Valve stations 5 in Azerbaijan, 6 in Georgia.
The expansion of the South Caucasus Pipeline (SCPX) is part of the Shah Deniz Full Field Development project.

At full capacity, and after additional stages of development, it is envisaged that the pipeline will export up to 25 billion м3/year of gas.
At the border the pipeline links up the Turkish-built extension joining SCP to the domestic supply grid at Erzurum.

The project comprises 491 km, 48” diameter loop to existing SCP in Azerbaijan and Georgia, 3 Compressor Stations (1 in Azerbaijan, 2 in Georgia), 6 Block Valve Stations (5 in Azerbaijan, 1 in Georgia).